AFCON qualifier: Peseiro unleashes Osimhen, Iwobi 21 others against Sierra Leone

FB IMG 1630703578905

Super Eagles coach José Santos Peseiro has invited captain Ahmed Musa, goalkeeper Adebayo Adeleye, defender William Ekong, midfielder Alex Iwobi and forward Moses Simon, among others, for next weekend’s 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying match against Sierra Leone in Monrovia.

Also on the list is in-form forward Victor Osimhen, whose 31 goals in all competitions for his club side SSC Napoli helped the Italian giants to the semi-finals of the UEFA Champions League and to their first Italian Serie A title in 33 years.

Osimhen, who tops the strikers’ list, has also recently been honoured with the National Award of Member of the Order of the Federal Republic by the Nigerian government.

He also received a special ball and jersey from the world football-ruling body, FIFA, for his magnificent season.

The Super Eagles are top of their qualification group with nine points out of four matches, followed by Guinea Bissau’s Wild Dogs, who have seven points. Leone Stars, who gave the Eagles a tough run in Abuja on Day 1 of the qualification series before succumbing 2-1, are on five points. Sao Tome and Principe, who’ll play the Super Eagles on the final day of the series in September, are at the bottom with only one point.

Nigeria and Sierra Leone will clash at the Samuel Kanyon Doe Stadium in Monrovia on Sunday, June 18, as Sierra Leone do not have any stadium in their country approved for international matches.


Goalkeepers: Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel); Victor Sochima (Rivers United, Nigeria); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC, Nigeria).

Defenders: William Ekong (Watford FC, England), Calvin Bassey (Ajax FC, The Netherlands), Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany), Chidiebube Duru (Rivers United. Nigeria), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England), Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain), Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal), and Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey).

Midfielders: Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England), Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England), Divine Nwachukwu (Bendel Insurance), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

Forwards: Victor Osimhen (SSC Napoli, Italy). Moses Simon (Nantes FC, France), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain), Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy), Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England), Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey).